Williamson replaces Warner as Hyderabad skipper

Author : Wisden 30 Mar, 2018

Sunrisers Hyderabad on Thursday (March 29) announced Kane Williamson as the captain for the Indian Premier League 2018, with David Warner banned from participation in the competition after his role in the ball-tampering scandal.

Williamson, the New Zealand captain, has been a part of the franchise since 2015 and got the nod for the role ahead of other potential candidates like Shikhar Dhawan and Shakib Al Hasan. He has played 15 matches in IPL so far – all for Hyderabad – scoring 411 runs at a strike-rate close to 130.

Williamson has captained New Zealand in 33 T20Is, winning 17 of them.

“I have accepted the role to stand in as captain for this season. It’s an exciting opportunity with a talented group of players. I look forward to the challenges ahead,” he said, in acceptance of his new role.

Williamson finds himself in the new role after Warner was banned for 12 months by Cricket Australia after the ball-tampering incident in Australia’s third Test against South Africa in Cape Town. The opening batsman, who had led Hyderabad to their only title in 2016, was subsequently banned from the IPL this season along with Steven Smith, who too was removed as Rajasthan Royals skipper.

Related posts